You hope you’ll never need it, but owning a firearm is an important line of defense for yourself, your family, and your property. But where do you even START? Right here.
This 4 hour course, including 2 hours of instruction and 1.5 hours of range time, packs a ton of information and will provide hands-on experience with several firearm options plus expert knowledge from our NRA and NCDOJ certified firearms instructor, Abraham.
The classroom session is 2 hours in length and covers the following:
What’s the difference? Revolver or semi-automatic? .22 or .38? 20 gauge or 12 gauge? What does all the jargon even mean? What are the pros, cons, and applications of each type of firearm?
Legal - What are the local/state/federal laws I need to know about owning and defending myself with a firearm?
Safety - Learn what will keep you and your family safe. How to clean, maintain, and store your firearm, plus common firearm malfunctions and how to fix them.
SUNDAY, JANUARY 20, 4:00-8:00PM, $75
Range time is 1.5 hours and covers the following:
Deciding what is right for you - You’ll have range time and opportunity to handle and fire various types of firearms and get your questions answered. This includes rifle, shotgun, revolver, and semi-automatic handgun (5 rounds for each firearm provided).
Bring Your Own - You may bring your own firearm (and ammunition) and practice with it. Or ammo can be purchased for additional practice with our range guns.
This course is a North Carolina Department of Justice approved firearm course that fulfills the educational requirements for issuance of a North Carolina Concealed Carry Handgun Permit. The course is composed of an 8 hour classroom session and a firearm proficiency test.
CONCEALED CARRY HANDGUN PERMIT SEMINAR
SUNDAY, JULY 29, 10AM-8PM, $75
The classroom session is 8 hours in length and covers the following:
Firearm safety (fundamental safety rules, dealing with children in the house, etc.)
Types of handguns – components; operation & pros/cons of each type
Methods of carry & concealment
Firearm operation – deploying, presenting, and firing the handgun (including sight picture, sight alignment, trigger control)
Firearm cleaning & maintenance
Permit application process
Laws regarding concealed carry of handguns (where handguns may legally be carried, dealing with law enforcement while carrying a firearm, etc.)
Laws regarding use of force in North Carolina (escalation of force, use of deadly force)
State-to-state reciprocity/traveling with a handgun
What to do if you are involved in a self-defense shooting
The classroom session concludes with a written exam (true/false & multiple choice questions).
North Carolina requires all concealed-carry permit holders to complete a shooting qualification. This consists of a total of 30 rounds; 10 rounds each fired from 3, 5, & 7 yards. The target is a standard ‘silhouette’ style target. Students must make 21 of the 30 rounds inside of the 7 ring to pass. Any handgun is acceptable, provided that it is in safe working order. Students are encouraged to bring at least 60 rounds of ammunition in case a re-shoot is necessary (this doesn’t happen often).
At the end of the course, all passing students will receive a certificate of completion which must be presented to the sheriff’s department when applying for the concealed-carry permit. The process for applying for the permit will be covered during the class.
*Rental handguns are available for the shooting test if you do not have one for $20, which includes ammunition.
*Common semi-auto handgun calibers (.22LR/.380ACP /9mm/.40S&W/.45ACP) can be purchased from the instructor - .22LR is $5/30 rounds; all other calibers $8/30 rounds.